Tuition and Fees

Tuition and Fees

Tuition rates are reviewed by the University's Board of Trustees and the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina System and set annually by the North Carolina legislature. Fees are reviewed and approved by the University's Board of Trustees with final approval pending the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina System review. View detailed tuition rates below.

PLEASE NOTE: Some or all instructional formats for all or part of the 2020-21 academic year may change due to the public health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. As has always been the case, tuition and fees are charged at the beginning of the semester and will remain in place regardless of any changes in instructional format. Tuition and fees will not be refunded in the event that instructional format changes for any part of the 2020-21 academic year.

Cohort 2020-2021- Rates for all New In-State Freshmen and New In-State Transfer students, and Continuing In-State, Out-of-State and Graduate students who do not qualify for Fixed Tuition.

Cohort 2019-2020 - Rates for all New In-State Freshmen and New In-State Transfer students, and Continuing In-State, Out-of-State and Graduate students who do not qualify for Fixed Tuition.

Cohort 2018-2019 - Rates for Continuing In-State students who qualify for Fixed Tuition.

Cohort 2017-2018 - Rates for Continuing In-State students who qualify for Fixed Tuition.


Cohort 2016-2017 - Rates for Continuing In-State undergraduate students that qualify for Fixed Tuition.

Full Time Status

Tuition and Fee charges are billed each semester. Twelve or more credit hours are considered full-time for undergraduate students and nine or more credit hours are considered full-time for graduate students.

Tuition Differentials

Some undergraduate and graduate classes are assessed special course fees. Listed below are the differential costs for tuition that are added for courses within particular programs:

Master's of Business Administration (On Campus)
$425.00: 1-2 credit hours
$850.00: 3-5 credit hours
$1275.00: 6-7 credit hours
$1275.00: 8 credit hours

 

Master's of Business Administration (Distance Learning) 
$166.00: per credit hour

 

Joint Master's Social Work & Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering (On Campus) In-State
$59.25: 1-2 credit hours
$118.50: 3-5 credit hours
$177.75: 6-7 credit hours
$177.75: 8 credit hours
$237.00: 9+ credit hours

Joint Master's Social Work & Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering (On Campus) Out-of-State
$174.00: 1-2 credit hours
$348.00: 3-5 credit hours
$522.00: 6-7 credit hours
$522.00: 8 credit hours
$696.0: 9+ credit hours

 

Joint Master's Social Work (Distance Learning) In-State 
$23.00: per credit hour

 

Joint Master's Social Work (Distance Learning) Out-of-State
$68.00 per credit

Distance Learning/Online Courses

Please note that students will receive one combined billing statement for main campus and/or distance learning courses. Distance Learning (DL) courses are billed in addition to main campus charges.

Students who are enrolled in 12 or more credit hours (undergraduate) or nine (9) or more credit hours (graduate) with the main campus, and are in one or more credit hours of Distance Learning courses, will NOT be billed for the Distance Learning courses.

This benefit is only allotted to students who are attempting either 12 or more hours of on campus undergraduate-level courses or nine (9) hours or more of graduate-level on campus courses. See the chart below for more information about the impact of Distance Learning courses on a billing statement:

1-11 undergraduate hours
Distance Learning Credit Hours: 1 or more undergraduate hours
Assessed Charges on Bill: Costs of on-campus classes + cost of distance learning classes

12 or more undergraduate hours
Distance Learning Credit Hours: 1 or more undergraduate hours
Assessed Charges on Bill: Cost of 12 hours of on-campus classes only

1-8 graduate hours
Distance Learning Credit Hours: 1 or more graduate hours
Assessed Charges on Bill: Cost of on-campus classes + cost of distance learning classes

9 or more graduate hours
Distance Learning Credit Hours: 1 or more graduate hours
Assessed Charges on Bill: Cost of 9 hours of on-campus classes only


Electronic Billing

North Carolina A&T State University provides billing statements electronically through its online payment system. Students and Authorized Users will receive an email notification each time that a new billing statement (E-Bill) is available. Payments must be submitted by the scheduled due date to avoid cancellation of classes.

Refund Schedule -

1st and Dual Summer Session 2019

  • Continuing Students - May 28, 2019
  • First Time Borrowers - June 28, 2019

2nd Summer Session 2018

  • Continuing Students - July 2, 2019
  • First Time Borrowers - August 2, 2019

*The above dates are dependent on all funds being applied to the student account five (5) business days prior to the refund date*

Fixed Tuition

North Carolina A&T State University is implementing the Fixed Tuition Program as required by North Carolina General Statute § 116-143.9. Effective with the fall 2016 semester, tuition rates at all UNC institutions will be fixed for eight consecutive semesters for all resident bachelor’s degree-seeking freshmen. Tuition rates for other currently enrolled resident undergraduates and eligible transfer students will be fixed for an appropriate number of consecutive semesters.

Eligibility
A student must remain continuously enrolled at the constituent institution during the entire tuition period to receive this benefit. Continuous Enrollment is defined as a student being consecutively enrolled at North Carolina A&T State University for the fall and spring semesters in courses creditable toward a baccalaureate degree.

The eligibility period begins for first-time or transfer students upon enrolling at North Carolina A&T State University for the fall or spring semester as a degree-seeking undergraduate. Semesters in which students completely withdraw from the institution before the tenth day of the term will not be counted in the designated fixed-tuition time period. Semesters in which students completely withdraw from the institution after the tenth day of the term will be counted in the designated fixed-tuition time period.

A break in enrollment occurs when a student is not enrolled during consecutive semesters at North Carolina A&T State University. Students are not required to be enrolled during the summer term(s) to maintain continuous enrollment.

Transfer Students

Eligible transfer students will receive fixed tuition for a prorated time period, based on credits accumulated at the transferring institution(s). Students transferring between UNC institutions but maintaining continuous enrollment will be subject to the transfer student policy.

Students Exempt From Fixed Tuition
The following categories of students are not eligible for the Fixed Tuition Program and will be billed based on the current year’s rate as approved by the North Carolina General Assembly:

  • Non-resident students
  • Graduate students
  • Continuing Education students
  • Students currently enrolled in a cooperative innovative high school/early college
  • Consortium, or Dual-Enrollment program
  • Second degree seeking students
  • Readmitted students who are not granted an appeal
  • Non-degree seeking students
  • UNC Online student

Five Year Program
Any program authorized by the Board of Governors to require 135 semester credit hours or more is officially designated as a five-year baccalaureate program. First-time students seeking a baccalaureate degree in five-year programs will be eligible for fixed tuition fo 10 consecutive academic semesters, not including summer sessions.

Waivers
Students who have interrupted continuous enrollment may petition for a waiver to retain initial fixed tuition under the following conditions: (1) military service obligation, (2) serious medical debilitation or (3) short or long-term disability.