

# NORTH CAROLINA AGRICULTURAL AND TECHNICAL STATE UNIVERSITY

#### FACULTY HANDBOOK

#### UNIVERSITY POLICY

### **CHAPTER I**

#### **INTRODUCTION**

#### **1.1 THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA SYSTEM**

The University of North Carolina system is composed of all the public institutions of higher education in North Carolina that confer degrees at the baccalaureate level or higher. It also includes one high school, the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, the nation's first public residential high school for gifted students. The University of North Carolina was authorized by the State Constitution in 1776 and chartered in 1789 by the General Assembly.

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill opened its doors to students in 1795. During the latter part of the nineteenth century, the General Assembly of North Carolina established and supported fifteen other public senior institutions. This was done in compliance with Article IX, Section 8, of the Constitution of North Carolina:

"The General Assembly shall maintain a public system of higher education, comprising The University of North Carolina and such other institutions of higher education as the General Assembly may deem wise."

By 1969, six constituent institutions, governed by a single Board of Trustees, were included under the University of North Carolina. This multi-campus University had its beginnings in legislation enacted in 1931, which defined the University of North Carolina to include the campus at Chapel Hill (now the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), North Carolina State University at Raleigh, and the Woman's College of the University of North Carolina (now the University of North Carolina at Greensboro). In the 1960s, three additional campuses were added: the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, the University of North Carolina at Asheville, and the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

After 1971, additional state-supported senior institutions of higher education became part of the University of North Carolina system: Appalachian State University, East Carolina University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, North Carolina Central University, North Carolina School of the Arts (now the UNC School of the Arts), Pembroke State University (now the University of North Carolina at Pembroke), Western Carolina University, and Winston-Salem State University. In 1971, the General Assembly redefined the University of North Carolina, and under the terms of that legislation all sixteen public senior institutions became constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina (UNC). In 1985, the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics was declared an affiliated school of the University, and by legislative action in 2007, it became a constituent institution of the University.

The UNC Board of Governors is the policy-making body of the University of North Carolina. The Board consists of voting members elected by the General Assembly. It is charged with "the general determination, control, supervision, management, and governance of all affairs of the constituent institutions." The chief executive officer of The University is the President.

Each constituent institution of the University has its own board of trustees, faculty and student body. The chief administrative officer of each institution is the chancellor, and the chancellors report to the President of the University. Each board of trustees generally is composed of thirteen members: eight elected by the Board of Governors, four appointed by the Governor, and the elected president of the student body, who serves ex officio. The principal powers of these institutional boards are exercised under a delegation of authority from the Board of Governors.

#### **1.2 COMPOSITION OF THE UNIVERSITY**

| Institutions Comprising the<br>University of North Carolina                      | Chartered or<br>Founded | Admitted to the<br>UNC System |
|--|-------------------------|-------------------------------|
| Appalachian State University (Boone)   | 1899                    | 1972                          |
| East Carolina University (Greenville)  | 1907                    | 1971                          |
| Elizabeth City State University (Elizabeth City)                                 | 1892                    | 1971                          |
| Fayetteville State University (Fayetteville)                                     | 1867                    | 1972                          |
| North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University ( <i>Greensboro</i> ) | 1891                    | 1972                          |
| North Carolina Central University (Durham)                                       | 1909                    | 1972                          |

The University of North Carolina is a single, multi-campus university composed of the following constituent institutions:

| University of North Carolina School of the Arts ( <i>Winston-Salem</i> ) | 1963 | 1972 |
|--|------|------|
| North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics ( <i>Durham</i> )       | 1980 | 2007 |
| North Carolina State University (Raleigh)                                | 1887 | 1931 |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke (Pembroke)                      | 1887 | 1972 |
| University of North Carolina at Asheville (Asheville)                    | 1927 | 1969 |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill)                | 1789 | 1789 |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte)                    | 1946 | 1965 |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Greensboro)                  | 1891 | 1931 |
| University of North Carolina at Wilmington (Wilmington)                  | 1946 | 1969 |
| Western Carolina University (Cullowhee)                                  | 1889 | 1972 |
| Winston-Salem State University (Winston-Salem)                           | 1892 | 1972 |

## **1.3 EQUAL OPPORTUNITY**

North Carolina A&T State University strongly supports equal opportunity for applicants, students, and employees and forbids unlawful harassment or discrimination.

The Equal Opportunity and Non-Discrimination Policy may be found <u>here</u>. The Unlawful Harassment and Discrimination Policy may be found <u>here</u>. The Sexual Misconduct: Discrimination, Harassment and Sexual Assault Policy may be found <u>here</u>, and the Student-on-Student Sexual Misconduct Policy may be found <u>here</u>.

Approved by the Board of Trustees

Date Revision is Effective: upon approval

First approved: February 21, 2007 Revised: April 8, 2011 July 20, 2018